Rss Feed Tweeter button Facebook button
Dec 072013
 Posted by on December 7, 2013 Tagged with: , , ,  No Responses »

And the winner is…

fantasy copy


Thank you to all of those who submitted their wonderful shorts in this category. I enjoyed reading them. This was a truly difficult decision as I had some awesome entries. But here is my choice for the winner of the Contemporary Fantasy genre!

Read on for our winning story “The Giant Project” by Kirstin Pulioff.

Continue reading »

Nov 172013
 Posted by on November 17, 2013 Tagged with: , , ,  No Responses »

banner (2)


Our heartfelt thanks to the awesome authors below who donated their books to the first Golden Shorts Contest! Their generosity is greatly appreciated.

You can find the complete rules below. Or you can visit our Event Page on Facebook.

Prize List

Grand Prize – Kindle Fire and eBook Bundle
Genre Winners – $5 Gift Card, 2-eBook Bundle, custom banner for their website (designed by Danielle deVor)


2-Ebook Bundles by Genre

Contemporary Fantasy

Portals by Maer Wilson
A Touch of Darkness by Tina Moss


Sorrow’s Point by Danielle DeVor
The Clearing by Thomas Rydder


Unexpected Gifts by S.R. Mallery
The Luck of the Weissensteiners by Christoph Fischer

Paranormal Romance 

Fairyproof by Constance Phillips
Violet Midnight by Lynn Rush


Resurrecting Harry by Constance Phillips
Love is Never Past Tense by Janna Yeshanova

Young Adult

Grave Winner by Lindsey Loucks
The Escape of Princess Madeline by Kirstin Pulioff


Front Page Fatality by LynDee Walker
Center Point by RM Clark


Grand Prize Winner eBook Bundle

Wicked Misery by Tracey Martin
NGLND XPX by Ian Hutson
Haunting Lia by Shannon Eckrich
Switch by Karen Prince
“Ghost Memory” by Maer Wilson
“Unwanted Ghost” by Maer Wilson
Restless Souls: 3 Dark Fables by Thomas Rydder
“Something Bad” and “She Found Them” by Dab 10
Luna Sanguis by Simon Okill
Luna Aeturnus by Simon Okill
Mirror Deep by Joss Landry
“The Ivory Tower” by Kirstin Pulioff
A Minor Magic by Justin Macamber
Elephant in the Room by Diana J. Febry
Portrait of a Dead Guy by Larissa Reinhart
Diners, Dives & Dead Ends by Terri L. Austin
Double Whammy by Gretchen Archer
Peer Inside My Soul and See Me by De Ann Townes, Jr.
A King Among Prince by De Ann Townes, Jr.
Other Side of Forever by Shannon Eckrich
Oaken Fury by Bakhari Burrell
Highland Solution by Ceci Giltenan
A Stiff Kiss by Avery Olive

Nov 102013

banner (2)

Calling Writers – Short Story Contest

November 15th through November 30th, 2013

Grand Prize – a Kindle Fire HD

Other prizes include Gift Cards, ebook bundles and winner banners

The complete prize list is HERE.

You can join our Facebook Event to stay up-to-date.



Contemporary Fantasy – Maer Wilson

Horror – Danielle DeVor

Historical – Christoph Fischer

Paranormal Romance – Tina Moss

Romance – Constance Phillips

Young Adult – Lindsey Loucks

Mystery – LynDee Walker



1.  Submission dates – Opening date is 11/15/2013 at 12:00 AM. Closing date is 11/30/13 at 11:59 PM. All times are Pacific Standard Time.

2.  Each submission must be 3000-5000 words.

3.  Each story must be submitted as an attachment via email to

4.  The email should include:

Author’s name,
Story title
Author’s email address.

5.  Formatting – Submissions must be formatted in a standard .doc file as an attachment and submitted as follows :

Times Roman 12 pt
1 inch margins
Double spaced
Include only story title and page numbers. (NO AUTHOR NAMES in the story attachment)

6.  Submissions must be of original, unpublished work and all rights owned by the entrant. Copyright remains property of the author.

7.  Stories must be in one of the following genres:

Contemporary Fantasy
Paranormal Romance
Young Adult

8.  Stories will be forwarded to the judge for that genre.

9.  All entrants must be at least 18 years of age.

10. The name of the winner and their winning story in each genre will be posted on 12/7/2013 on the judging author’s website. See below for the links to each genre.

11. The poll to vote for the Grand Winner will open on 12/7/13. A link to the poll will be available at each sponsoring author’s website.

12. Voting will close at 12:00 AM PST on 12/20.

13. The Grand Winner will be announced on all sponsoring websites on or after 12/20/13.

Good luck contestants!